Business Plan Endorsement Meeting

After releasing our draft business plan a number of months ago we have received a number of suggestions and help on the document. These suggestions have been taken into account and the document has been altered. The next stage is meeting with all Trust members to go over any final suggestions before it is finalised. On the night we will also run a raffle with prizes so far including a signed football, copies of Chris Sands’ new book ‘Shels – A Grand Old Team To Know’ and t-shirts from our new online store. Everyone who attends will get a free raffle ticket with the option to buy more.

The agenda for the meeting will run as follows:

Endorsement from members after going through contributions made. 30 minutes.

Q&A to Chair and board members. Open q’s. Business plan, new shop, membership etc. 40 minutes.

Raffle. 15minutes.

This is a very important meeting for the future of the Trust and the future of Shelbourne Football Club. We look forward to seeing you all there.#RenewTheReds

The Facebook event for the meeting can be found here:

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

New online merchandise store

Bit of exciting news from the 1895 Trust today. We are now the proud owners of… a new online merchandise store. To launch it we have put up eight old designs. In due course we’ll be putting up new designs. Have a bit of a look around for yourself. There are lots of options for t-shirts and hoodies with a huge range of sizes and styles. Best of all its delivered right to your door around the world.

To add to all this we are now accepting design ideas for future merchandise. So if you always wanted to create a Shels/football related t-shirt, poster, phone case etc then send us your design to subject line Redbubble Design and our chief designer will consider your proposal. All designs submitted and chosen for commercial use by the 1895 Trust will be the property of the 1895 Trust.


Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

1895 Trust fundraising table quiz

We are hosting a table quiz in the Tolka Bar at 7.30pm on Thursday, May 26th with all proceeds going to the Trust.

The format will be teams of four and each team costs €40 to enter. Quizmaster Barry Worthington will be putting everyone’s knowledge to the test with what we imagine will be some fiendishly difficult questions.

There will be prizes on the night as well as a raffle and the chance to enter our Euro 2016 prediction league – more on that in the coming days.

So get revising and get down to the bar in Tolka on Thursday, May 27th in support of the Trust.


Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Historic fortnight in store for Shels women and girls teams

This week is set to be one of the biggest in the history of the Shelbourne women’s and girls’ sections with a total of nine trophies on the line.

On Wednesday (May 11th) Shels Ladies play host to Wexford Youths in Tolka Park (kick off: 7pm). With Wexford currently top of the league on 29 points, Shels need to win to tie Youths’ points tally and take the league campaign to a playoff.

Following that the Reds take on UCD Waves at Richmond Park on Sunday (kick off: 3pm) in the League Cup final, meaning that there is a potential double on the line for our Women’s National League team.

Also on the trail of success are a number of the underage girls teams. This Sunday three underage teams play in league cup finals before a further four take to the pitch for cup finals a week later.

This all means that, over the next fortnight, Shelbourne Ladies could win leagues and cups at every age from under-10s to Women’s National League.

A football club that encompasses all ages and gender is something that we at the 1895 Trust strive towards and we take great pride in the fact that Shels are ahead of so many other Irish clubs when it comes to female teams.

With that in mind we call on as many Shels fans as possible to get down to the games on Wednesday, Sunday or the following week to hopefully see yet more history being made in the famous red jersey.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Congratulations to Barry Worthington

The 1895 Trust would like to congratulate committee member and Fundraising Officer Barry Worthington on completing the Belfast City Marathon on Monday, May 2nd.

Despite picking up an injury to his left knee after just 10km, Barry soldiered on and managed to complete the full 42km in less than five hours despite being in serious pain.

Barry trained for a full six months for the event and footed the entire bill to compete himself with all donations going to the 1895 Trust. We’re extremely thankful to anyone who donated to the cause and, if you haven’t done so, you can still donate online via the Trust’s PayPal account. Payment can be made using PayPal, by sending payment to

Congratulations again to Barry, the pints afterwards were fully deserved!

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment